Elena

Elena
  • Special Jury Prize, Cannes Film Festival Awards Cannes Film Festival Awards
    2011

  • Best Feature Film, Best Director, Best Supporting Actress, Russian Academy of Motion Pictures Awards
    2011

  • Best Film, Ghent Film Festival Awards Ghent Film Festival Awards
    2011

  • Nadezhda Markina, Best Actress, Seville European Film Festival Awards
    2011

A film by Andrei Zvyagintsev
Starring Nadezhda Markina, Andrey Smirnov and Aleksey Rozin

When a sudden illness and an unexpected reunion threaten dutiful housewife Elena’s potential inheritance, she must hatch a desperate plan to save it.

Winner of Cannes’ Un Certain Regard Special Jury Prize, Elena is a gripping, modern twist on the classic noir thriller. Sixty-ish spouses Vladimir and Elena uneasily share his palatial Moscow apartment—he’s a still-virile, wealthy businessman; she’s his dowdy former nurse who has clearly “married up.”

Estranged from his own wild-child daughter, Vladimir openly despises his wife’s freeloading son and family. But when a sudden illness and an unexpected reunion threaten the dutiful housewife’s potential inheritance, she must hatch a desperate plan.

Masterfully crafted by award-winning Russian filmmaker Andrey Zvyagintsev (Golden Globe nominee The Return) and featuring evocative, Hitchcockian music by Philip Glass, Elena is a subtly stylish exploration of crime, punishment and human nature.

EXTRAORDINARY! Grounded by Markina’s magnificent performance. . . Brilliantly shot. —Howard Feinstein, Screen Daily

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2011
Country of Production
Russia
Language
Russian
Running Time
109 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Jul 29, 2012
11:30am
Saturday, Jul 28, 2012
11:30am
Thursday, Jul 26, 2012
7:20pm
Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012
7:20pm
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012
7:20pm
Monday, Jul 23, 2012
7:20pm
Sunday, Jul 22, 2012
7:20pm · 2:00pm
Saturday, Jul 21, 2012
7:20pm · 2:00pm
Friday, Jul 20, 2012
7:20pm · 2:00pm
Thursday, Jul 19, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2012
7:20pm · 5:00pm
Tuesday, Jul 17, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm
Monday, Jul 16, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm
Sunday, Jul 15, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm · 2:40pm
Saturday, Jul 14, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm · 2:40pm
Friday, Jul 13, 2012
9:40pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm · 2:40pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters