God’s Pocket

God’s Pocket

A film by John Slattery
Starring Philip Seymour Hoffman, Christina Hendricks, John Turturro

The only thing they can’t forgive is not being from… God’s Pocket.

In the gritty, blue-collar neighborhood of God’s Pocket, Mickey Scarpato’s crazy stepson, Leon, is killed in a construction “accident,” and Mickey quickly tries to bury the bad news with the body. But when a local columnist comes sniffing around for the truth, things go from bad to worse. Mickey finds himself stuck in a life-and-death struggle compounded by a body he can’t bury, a wife he can’t please, and a debt he can’t pay.

Acclaimed actor John Slattery makes an impressive jump behind the camera with an assured directorial debut that shows he has a razor-sharp eye for conveying the absurdity, cruelty, desperation, and tragic optimism of the people he portrays. Like life, his scenes seamlessly fuse humor and heartbreak, but it’s Slattery’s wit and confident style that make the portrait so authentic. Featuring a top-shelf cast and impeccable cinematography, God’s Pocket oozes with talent and marks the emergence of an inspired directorial presence.

4 Stars. A brash, black comedy.The Guardian

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2014
Country of Production
USA
Language
English
Running Time
88 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, May 29, 2014
7:50pm
Wednesday, May 28, 2014
7:50pm
Tuesday, May 27, 2014
7:50pm
Monday, May 26, 2014
7:50pm
Sunday, May 25, 2014
7:50pm
Saturday, May 24, 2014
7:50pm
Friday, May 23, 2014
7:50pm
Thursday, May 22, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm
Monday, May 19, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm
Sunday, May 18, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm
Saturday, May 17, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 1:40pm
Friday, May 16, 2014
9:30pm · 7:30pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters