Like Father Like Son

Like Father Like Son

A film by Hirokazu Kore-eda
Starring Masaharu Fukuyama, Machiko Ono, Yoko Maki

In Like Father, Like Son, acclaimed director Kore-eda Hirokazu (Nobody Knows, I Wish) has created another fully realized and deeply touching family drama.

Ryota has earned everything he has through hard work and is confident in the agenda he has planned out for both a successful career and ideal family.

When he and his wife, Midori, receive an unexpected phone call from the hospital where their son was born, their lives, and the lives of another family, are thrown into turmoil. The son he believes is his, is not, two boys were accidentally switched at birth. Suddenly, Ryota is forced to face a life changing decision, examine his priorities and ask himself if he has truly been a “father” for the past six years.

Relentlessly quiet character study that is photographed with Zen remove and scored metronomically to Bach and Beethoven, each scene clipped to the barest essentials.Time Out New York

 

Technical Information

Production Year
2013
Country of Production
Japan
Language
Japanese
Running Time
120 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Feb 9, 2014
11:30am
Saturday, Feb 8, 2014
11:30am
Friday, Feb 7, 2014
2:30pm
Thursday, Feb 6, 2014
9:35pm · 7:10pm · 4:45pm
Wednesday, Feb 5, 2014
9:35pm · 7:10pm · 4:45pm
Tuesday, Feb 4, 2014
9:35pm · 4:45pm
Monday, Feb 3, 2014
9:35pm · 7:10pm · 4:45pm
Sunday, Feb 2, 2014
9:35pm · 7:10pm · 4:45pm · 2:20pm
Saturday, Feb 1, 2014
9:35pm · 7:10pm · 4:45pm · 2:20pm
Friday, Jan 31, 2014
7:10pm · 4:45pm · 2:20pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters