Lore

Lore

A film by Cate Shortland
Starring Saskia Rosendahl, Kai Malina, Nele Trebs

Left to fend for themselves after their SS officer father and mother, staunch Nazi believers, are interred by the victorious Allies at the end of World War II, five German children undertake a harrowing journey that exposes them to the reality and consequences of their parents’ actions.

Led by the eldest sibling, 14-year old Lore (striking newcomer Saskia Rosendahl), they set out on a journey across a devastated country to reach their grandmother in the north.

After meeting the charismatic Thomas, a mysterious young refugee, Lore soon finds her world shattered by feelings of both hatred and desire as she must learn to trust the one person she has always been taught to hate in order to survive. Lush cinematography and an evocative, haunting mood infuse this unconventional take on the Holocaust legacy with unforgettable impact.

Intense and emotional. Saskia Rosendahl is mesmerizing. —Kenneth Turan, Los Angeles Times

A lyrical, deeply affecting study into a rarely seen legacy of the Holocaust. —Megan Lehmann, The Hollywood Reporter

 

Technical Information

Production Year
2012
Countries of Production
Germany, Australia, United Kingdom
Languages
German, English
Running Time
109 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Apr 14, 2013
11:30am
Saturday, Apr 13, 2013
11:30am
Sunday, Apr 7, 2013
11:30am
Saturday, Apr 6, 2013
11:30am
Sunday, Mar 31, 2013
11:30am
Saturday, Mar 30, 2013
11:30am
Sunday, Mar 24, 2013
3:30pm
Saturday, Mar 23, 2013
3:30pm
Friday, Mar 22, 2013
3:30pm
Sunday, Mar 10, 2013
11:30am
Saturday, Mar 9, 2013
10:30am
Thursday, Mar 7, 2013
6:30pm
Wednesday, Mar 6, 2013
8:45pm · 4:20pm
Tuesday, Mar 5, 2013
6:30pm
Monday, Mar 4, 2013
8:45pm · 4:20pm
Sunday, Mar 3, 2013
6:30pm · 2:00pm
Saturday, Mar 2, 2013
8:45pm · 4:20pm · 11:30am
Friday, Mar 1, 2013
6:30pm · 2:00pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters