Mother and Child

A film by Rodrigo García
Starring Naomi Watts, Annette Bening, Samuel L. Jackson

Three women’s lives share a common core: they have all been profoundly affected by adoption. KAREN (Annette Bening) had a baby at 14, gave her up at birth, and has been haunted ever since by the daughter she never knew. ELIZABETH (Naomi Watts) grew up as an adopted child; she’s a bright and ambitious lawyer, but a flinty loner in her personal life. LUCY (Kerry Washington) is just embarking with her husband on the adoption odyssey, looking for a baby to become their own.

Mother and Child plays out beautifully, a familial song that grows and intertwines with each passing moment, and there are only a few bumps in the road to jolt the journey. At times, jumps in the story seem jarring, and could be handled more smoothly. The formation of Karen and Paco’s relationship is rushed in comparison to the slowly unfolding worlds of the three main characters, and the second of three jumps forward in time seems rushed and disjointed — thrown in rather than properly introduced or joined. But those are minor flaws of a greater, entertaining whole.

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2009
Running Time
126 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Jun 3, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Wednesday, Jun 2, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Tuesday, Jun 1, 2010
9:30pm · 4:30pm
Monday, May 31, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm · 2:00pm
Sunday, May 30, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm · 2:00pm
Saturday, May 29, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm · 2:00pm
Friday, May 28, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Thursday, May 27, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Wednesday, May 26, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Tuesday, May 25, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Monday, May 24, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm
Sunday, May 23, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm · 2:00pm
Saturday, May 22, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:29pm · 2:00pm
Friday, May 21, 2010
9:30pm · 7:00pm · 4:30pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters