Program 3: Daniel Harding conducts Wagner

Conductor Daniel Harding celebrates Wagner’s centenary.

Daniel Harding, awarded the Premio Abbiati by Italian music critics as best conductor of 2011, celebrates Wagner’s centenary with the Prelude and Death of Isolde, the symphonic piece with which Wagner introduced Tristan und Isolde in concert halls while he was still struggling to have it performed in theatres. The programme opens with Mozart’s sublime Masonic Funeral March, while Ein Heldenleben continues the Straussian journey Harding began with Vier Letzte Lieder in 2007 and continued with the memorable performance of Eine Alpensinfonie in 2011. Ein Heldenleben is an occasion of particular importance for first violin Francesco De Angelis, who is entrusted with a challenging solo part. De Angelis plays the Maréchal Berthier Stradivarius “ex Napoleon” of 1716, made available by the Pro Canale Foundation.

Conductor Daniel Harding
143 minutes
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Maurerische Trauermusik
Richard Wagner, Tristan und Isolde, Vorspiel und Liebestod
Richard Strauss, Ein Heldenleben


Technical Information

Production Year
Running Time
143 mins

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information