Ran

A film by Akira Kurosawa

New 35mm Print! 25th Anniversary!

For his 27th film, Akira Kurosawa transposes Shakespeare’s KING LEAR to feudal Japan. RAN is the tragic tale of Lord Hidetora, a warlord who decides to divide his empire among his three sons on the eve of his 70th birthday. With its magnificent costumes, breathtaking settings, and amazingly photographed battle sequences, the film is truly stunning. An epic on the grandest of scales, RAN is not only one of Kurosawa’s finest films, it is a glorious masterpiece of Japanese cinema.

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
1985
Running Time
162 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010
5:20pm
Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010
5:20pm
Monday, Apr 26, 2010
5:20pm
Sunday, Apr 25, 2010
5:20pm
Saturday, Apr 24, 2010
5:20pm
Friday, Apr 23, 2010
5:20pm
Thursday, Apr 22, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm
Wednesday, Apr 21, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm
Tuesday, Apr 20, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm
Monday, Apr 19, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm
Sunday, Apr 18, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm · 1:40pm
Saturday, Apr 17, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm · 1:40pm
Friday, Apr 16, 2010
8:15pm · 5:05pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters