Starlet

Starlet

A film by Sean Baker
Starring Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Stella Maeve

Nothing is ever as it seems…

Starlet explores the unlikely friendship between 21 year-old aspiring actress Jane (Dree Hemingway) and elderly widow Sadie (Besedka Johnson), after their worlds collide in California’s San Fernando Valley. Jane spends her time getting high with her dysfunctional roommates and taking care of her Chihuahua Starlet, while Sadie passes her days alone, tending to her garden.

After a confrontation at a yard sale, Jane finds something unexpected in a relic from Sadie’s past. Her curiosity piqued, she tries to befriend the caustic older woman. Secrets emerge as their relationship grows, revealing that nothing is ever as it seems.

Director Sean Baker continues in the naturalistic style of his previous films, the Spirit Award-nominated Prince of Broadway and Take Out, capturing the rhythms of everyday life with a rare authenticity. Featuring exceptional debut performances by Dree Hemingway (great granddaughter of Ernest) and 85-year-old Besedka Johnson, who received a Special Jury Recognition at SXSW, Starlet is at once provocative, haunting, and surprisingly sweet.

 

Technical Information

Production Year
2012
Country of Production
USA
Language
English

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Monday, Dec 24, 2012
1:20pm
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Saturday, Dec 22, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Friday, Dec 21, 2012
8:30pm
Thursday, Dec 20, 2012
8:30pm
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012
8:30pm
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012
8:30pm
Monday, Dec 17, 2012
8:30pm
Sunday, Dec 16, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Saturday, Dec 15, 2012
8:30pm · 1:20pm
Friday, Dec 14, 2012
8:30pm
Thursday, Dec 13, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Monday, Dec 10, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Sunday, Dec 9, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:30pm
Saturday, Dec 8, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:30pm
Friday, Dec 7, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:30pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters