The Central Park Five

Central Park Five

A film by Ken Burns, David McMahon, Sarah Burns

A new documentary from award winning filmmaker Ken Burns.

In 1989, five black and Latino teenagers from Harlem were arrested and later convicted of brutally beating and raping a white woman in New York City’s Central Park. New York Mayor Ed Koch called it the “crime of the century” and it remains to date one of the biggest media stories of our time. The five each spent between 6 and 13 years in prison before a shocking confession from a serial rapist and DNA evidence proved their innocence.

Set against a backdrop of a decaying city beset by violence and racial tension, The Central Park Five tells the story of how five lives were upended by the rush to judgment by police, a sensationalist media and a devastating miscarriage of justice.

The film tells a shocking story in eloquent, even-handed and affecting terms. —David Rooney, The Hollywood Reporter

 

Technical Information

Production Year
2012
Country of Production
USA
Language
English
Running Time
119 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Dec 30, 2012
10:30am
Saturday, Dec 29, 2012
10:30am
Thursday, Dec 27, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Monday, Dec 24, 2012
3:30pm
Sunday, Dec 23, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm · 10:30am
Saturday, Dec 22, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm · 10:30am
Friday, Dec 21, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Thursday, Dec 20, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Monday, Dec 17, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Sunday, Dec 16, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm · 10:30am
Saturday, Dec 15, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm · 10:30am
Friday, Dec 14, 2012
6:00pm · 3:30pm
Thursday, Dec 13, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm
Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm
Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm
Monday, Dec 10, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm
Sunday, Dec 9, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm · 1:00pm
Saturday, Dec 8, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm · 1:00pm
Friday, Dec 7, 2012
8:30pm · 6:00pm · 3:30pm · 1:00pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters