{screenings_master show_future_entries="yes" status="not closed"} {/screenings_master} {screenings_special_title} | Music Box Theatre

The Conquest

    {films_awards}
  • Nominated: {award_body}The Conquest{/award_body} {award_body} {/award_body}
    2011

  • {/films_awards}

A film by Xavier Durringer
Starring Denis Podalydes, Florence Pernel, Bernard Le Coq, Hippolyte Girardot, Samuel Labarthe

The Conquest is that rare specimen produced while the political subject is still in power.

Denis Podalydès delivers a witty yet commanding portrayal of Nicolas Sarkozy and his rise to the French presidency through the lens of his unraveling marriage to then-wife Cecilia (Florence Pernel). Never one to disguise his ambition, the film’s Sarkozy curries favor with predecessor Jacques Chirac (Bernard Le Coq) and spars gamely with glib rival Dominique de Villepin (Samuel Labarthe). This lampoon depicts the future president of France as a bold and unashamed virtuoso of political combat, whose inattention to his disintegrating domestic partnership emerges as his chief vulnerability. With leads brilliantly etching sharp characterizations of living politicians, director Xavier Durringer need never veer too far from reality, even while deploying fictional embellishments and a larger-than-life sense of humor that—with Nicola Piovani’s buoyant score—giddily evoke a circus-like atmosphere.

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2011
Country of Production
France
Language
French with English subtitles

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2012
6:20pm
Tuesday, Jan 17, 2012
6:20pm
Monday, Jan 16, 2012
6:20pm
Sunday, Jan 15, 2012
6:20pm · 1:00pm
Saturday, Jan 14, 2012
6:20pm · 1:00pm
Friday, Jan 13, 2012
6:20pm · 1:00pm
Thursday, Jan 12, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Wednesday, Jan 11, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Tuesday, Jan 10, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Monday, Jan 9, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm
Sunday, Jan 8, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:00pm
Saturday, Jan 7, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:00pm
Friday, Jan 6, 2012
8:40pm · 6:20pm · 4:00pm · 1:00pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters