The Imposter

Imposter
  • Nominated: Bart Layton, Grand Jury Prize - World Cinema, Documentary, Sundance Film Festival Awards
    2012

A film by Bart Layton
Starring Adam O'Brian, Frederic Bourdin and Carey Gibson

A documentary centered on a young Frenchman who convinces a grieving Texas family that he is their 16-year-old son who went missing for 3 years.

Based on a true story, The Imposter is documentary filmmaking turned film noir. In 1994, a 13-year-old boy disappeared without a trace from San Antonio, Texas. Three-and-a-half years later he is found alive thousands of miles away in a village in southern Spain, telling an elaborate story of kidnap and torture.

His family is overjoyed to have him back, but everything may not be as it seems. His strange accent and changes in appearance all seem to be suspicious inconsistencies, yet the family seems not to notice. It’s only when an investigator starts asking questions that this story takes an even stranger turn. With all of the twists of a true thriller, The Imposter challenges our perceptions of the truth, and every new revelation leaves the viewer on the edge of their seat.

You won’t be able to get it out of your head. —Peter Travers, Rolling Stone

Rarely has the con game, and the human capacity to believe in improbable outcomes, been taken to such extremes as we see in “The Imposter,” a dark, gripping and provocative film by Bart Layton that has the documentary world buzzing. —Andrew O'Hehir, Salon.com

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2012
Country of Production
United Kingdom
Language
English
Running Time
99 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Sep 16, 2012
11:30am
Saturday, Sep 15, 2012
11:30am
Thursday, Sep 13, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Wednesday, Sep 12, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Tuesday, Sep 11, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Monday, Sep 10, 2012
9:49pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Sunday, Sep 9, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:30pm
Saturday, Sep 8, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:30pm
Friday, Sep 7, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm
Thursday, Sep 6, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Wednesday, Sep 5, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Tuesday, Sep 4, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Monday, Sep 3, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm
Sunday, Sep 2, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:30pm
Saturday, Sep 1, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:30pm
Friday, Aug 31, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm
Thursday, Aug 30, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Monday, Aug 27, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm
Sunday, Aug 26, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:45pm
Saturday, Aug 25, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm · 1:45pm
Friday, Aug 24, 2012
9:50pm · 7:40pm · 5:30pm · 3:30pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters