The Kid With a Bike

Kid With a Bike

A film by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne
Starring Thomas Doret, Cécile De France and Jérémie Renier

Winner of the Grand Jury Prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, the deeply moving new film by the Dardenne brothers (L’enfant, Rosetta) delves into the emotional life of troubled 11-year-old Cyril (newcomer Thomas Doret).

When his father (Jérémie Renier) abandons him, Cyril obsessively tries to find his bicycle — after all, his father must have cared about him enough not to sell that off, he reasons.

Almost by accident, he becomes the ward of a kind hairdresser (Cécile de France), a woman who seems surprised to find herself so determined to help him. With his wild, unpredictable behavior and his disastrous search for father figures, Cyril risks losing her — though she refuses to give up without a fight.

Full of heartbreaking betrayals and unexpected grace, The Kid With a Bike is a film about a child, abandoned to the elements, learning to become good.

The Dardenne brothers are again at the peak of their powers in this impeccably observed drama. Few, if any, contemporary filmmakers can match the Dardennes for unstinting compassion, rigorous avoidance of sentimentality and unimpeachable emotional integrity.The Hollywood Reporter

Magnificent. One of the most compelling spectacles you’ll see this year. Film Comment

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2011
Countries of Production
Belgium, France, Italy
Languages
French, English
Running Time
87 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Sunday, Apr 22, 2012
11:30am
Saturday, Apr 21, 2012
11:30am
Thursday, Apr 19, 2012
9:30pm · 5:00pm
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012
9:30pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012
9:30pm · 7:20pm · 5:00pm
Sunday, Apr 15, 2012
12:30pm
Saturday, Apr 14, 2012
12:30pm
Thursday, Apr 12, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm
Wednesday, Apr 11, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm
Tuesday, Apr 10, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm
Monday, Apr 9, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm
Sunday, Apr 8, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm · 3:45pm · 11:30am
Saturday, Apr 7, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm · 3:45pm · 11:30am
Friday, Apr 6, 2012
9:45pm · 7:45pm · 3:45pm
Thursday, Apr 5, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm
Wednesday, Apr 4, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm
Tuesday, Apr 3, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm
Monday, Apr 2, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm
Sunday, Apr 1, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm · 3:20pm · 1:20pm
Saturday, Mar 31, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm · 3:20pm · 1:20pm
Friday, Mar 30, 2012
9:45pm · 7:30pm · 5:20pm · 3:20pm · 1:20pm
Thursday, Mar 29, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm
Monday, Mar 26, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm
Sunday, Mar 25, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm · 3:35pm · 1:40pm
Saturday, Mar 24, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm · 3:35pm · 1:40pm
Friday, Mar 23, 2012
9:30pm · 7:30pm · 5:30pm · 3:35pm · 1:40pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters