Trials of Muhammad Ali

Trials of Muhammad Ali

A film by Bill Siegel
Starring Muhammad Ali

The Trials of Muhammad Ali covers the explosive crossroads of Ali’s life. When Cassius Clay becomes Muhammad Ali, his conversion to Islam and refusal to serve in the Vietnam War leave him banned from boxing and facing a five-year prison sentence. Ali’s choice of belief and conscience over fame and fortune resonates far beyond the boxing ring, striking issues of race, faith and identity that continue to confront us all today.

From his Louisville roots, through his years in exile, to receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom, Trials traces Ali’s path from poet to pariah to global ambassador for peace. At each stage, the challenges Ali faces go far beyond the boxing ring and ultimately encompass issues of power, race, faith and identity that confront us all.

The Trials of Muhammad Ali is not a boxing film and has no highlight reel. Instead, it focuses on Ali’s toughest bouts: his decision to join a controversial religious group, his battle to overturn a five-year prison sentence for refusing US military service, and his struggle with Parkinson’s.

An invigorating doc brings the long-forgotten controversy to life… captures the thrill of Ali’s personality even for viewers with little interest in the sweet science. —John DeFore, The Hollywood Reporter

 

Technical Information

Production Year
2013
Country of Production
USA
Language
English
Running Time
86 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Nov 21, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013
7:30pm
Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Monday, Nov 18, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Sunday, Nov 17, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Saturday, Nov 16, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Friday, Nov 15, 2013
7:30pm · 5:30pm
Thursday, Nov 14, 2013
7:15pm
Wednesday, Nov 13, 2013
9:30pm · 7:15pm · 5:00pm
Tuesday, Nov 12, 2013
9:30pm · 7:15pm · 5:00pm
Monday, Nov 11, 2013
9:30pm · 7:15pm · 5:00pm
Sunday, Nov 10, 2013
9:30pm · 7:15pm · 5:00pm · 3:00pm
Saturday, Nov 9, 2013
9:30pm · 7:15pm · 5:00pm · 3:00pm
Friday, Nov 8, 2013
5:00pm
Saturday, Oct 5, 2013
7:00pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters