{screenings_master show_future_entries="yes" status="not closed"} {/screenings_master} {screenings_special_title} | Music Box Theatre

Viva Riva!

    {films_awards}
  • Nominated: {award_body}Viva Riva!{/award_body} {award_body} {/award_body}
    2011

  • {/films_awards}

A film by Djo Tunda Wa Munga
Starring Patsha Bay Mukuna, Manie Malone, Hoji Fortuna, Marlene Longange, Diplome Amekindra, Alex Herabo

Riva is a small time operator who has just returned to his hometown of Kinshasa, Congo after a decade away with a major score: a fortune in hijacked gasoline. Wads of cash in hand and out for a good time, Riva is soon entranced by beautiful night club denizen Nora, the kept woman of a local gangster. Into the mix comes an Angolan crime lord relentlessly seeking the return of his stolen shipment of gasoline. Director Djo Tunda Wa Munga’s Kinshasa is a seductively vibrant, lawless, fuel-starved sprawl of shantytowns, gated villas, bordellos and nightclubs and Riva is its perfect embodiment.

A bold crime action film that’s vicious, sexy and throbbingly realistic.The Hollywood Reporter

Four stars…One of the best neo-noirs from anywhere in recent memory. Time Out New York

Frenetic, sleazy and entertaining as all hell The Onion

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2010
Country of Production
Democratic Republic of Congo
Languages
Lingala, French with English subtitles

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Sep 1, 2011
9:45pm · 5:45pm
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2011
9:45pm · 5:44pm
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2011
9:45pm
Monday, Aug 29, 2011
9:45pm · 5:45pm
Sunday, Aug 28, 2011
9:45pm · 5:45pm · 1:45pm
Saturday, Aug 27, 2011
9:45pm · 5:45pm · 1:45pm
Friday, Aug 26, 2011
9:45pm · 5:45pm
Thursday, Aug 25, 2011
7:40pm
Wednesday, Aug 24, 2011
9:40pm · 7:40pm · 5:40pm
Tuesday, Aug 23, 2011
9:40pm · 7:40pm · 5:40pm
Monday, Aug 22, 2011
9:40pm · 7:40pm · 5:40pm
Sunday, Aug 21, 2011
9:40pm · 7:40pm · 5:40pm · 3:40pm · 1:40pm
Saturday, Aug 20, 2011
9:40pm · 7:40pm · 5:40pm · 3:40pm · 1:40pm
Friday, Aug 19, 2011
9:40pm · 7:39pm · 5:40pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters