We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks

We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks

A film by Alex Gibney
Starring Julian Assange, Adrian Lamo

In seeking to expose abuse in the corridors of power, Assange and Manning were undermined by forces within and without, as well as by their own human failings. We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks is a riveting, multi-layered tale about transparency in the information age and our ever-elusive search for the truth.

Filmed with the startling immediacy of unfolding history, Academy Award-winning documentary filmmaker Alex Gibney’s We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks details the creation of Julian Assange’s controversial website, which facilitated the largest security breach in U.S. history.

Hailed by some as a free-speech hero and by others as a traitor and terrorist, the enigmatic Assange’s rise and fall are paralleled with that of Pfc. Bradley Manning, the brilliant, troubled young soldier who downloaded hundreds of thousands of documents from classified U.S. military and diplomatic servers, revealing the behind-the-scenes workings of the government’s international diplomacy and military strategy.

The movie is beautiful and profound, an incredible story that’s about many things all at once, including the incredible Shakespearean narrative that is the life of Julian Assange, a free-information radical who has become an uncompromising guarder of secrets. —Matt Taibbi, Rolling Stone

 

External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
2012
Country of Production
USA
Language
English
Running Time
130 mins

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Tuesday, Jun 11, 2013
9:35pm · 4:20pm
Monday, Jun 10, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Sunday, Jun 9, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm · 1:45pm
Saturday, Jun 8, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm · 1:45pm
Friday, Jun 7, 2013
9:35pm · 4:20pm
Thursday, Jun 6, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Wednesday, Jun 5, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Tuesday, Jun 4, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Monday, Jun 3, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm
Sunday, Jun 2, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm · 1:45pm
Saturday, Jun 1, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm · 1:45pm
Friday, May 31, 2013
9:35pm · 7:00pm · 4:20pm · 1:45pm

See http://musicboxtheatre.com/showtimes for all currently scheduled films.

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters