{screenings_films status="not closed" limit="1"} {/screenings_films} {screenings_master show_future_entries="yes" status="not closed"} {/screenings_master} {screenings_special_title} | Music Box Theatre

Young Goethe in Love

  • Nominated: {award_body}Young Goethe in Love{/award_body} {award_body} {/award_body}

  • {/films_awards}

A film by Philipp Stölzl
Starring Alexander Fehling, Miriam Stein, Moritz Bleibtreu, Volker Bruch, Burghart Klaußner, Henry Hübchen

“Love grants in a moment what toil can hardly achieve in an age.” —Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Germany 1772 – the young and tumultuous Johann Goethe (Alexander Fehling) aspires to be a poet; but after failing his law exams, he is sent by his father (Henry Huebchen) to a sleepy provincial court to mend his ways. Unsure of his talent and eager to prove himself, Goethe soon wins the praise and friendship of his superior Kestner (Moritz Bleibtreu). But then Lotte (Miriam Stein) enters his life and nothing is the same as before. However, the young lovers are unaware that her father has already promised Lotte’s hand to another man.

Director Phillip Stölzl (North Face) returns to the very wellspring of Romanticism – Goethe’s autobiographical masterpiece The Sorrows of Young Werther – and conjures up a beguiling and refreshingly innocent period romance.

While Stölzl is clearly borrowing from other historical flights of fancy, such as Amadeus and Cyrano de Bergerac, along with Shakespeare in Love, the helmer and fellow screenwriters Christoph Mueller and Alexander Dydyna expertly mold these elements to fit the characters and situations’ own requirements, and expertly alternate romance, humor and drama without losing their grip on the characters and their dilemmas.Variety


External Links

Technical Information

Production Year
Country of Production
German with English subtitles

Past Screenings (since April 2nd, 2009)

Thursday, Jan 5, 2012
Wednesday, Jan 4, 2012
Tuesday, Jan 3, 2012
Monday, Jan 2, 2012
Saturday, Dec 31, 2011
Friday, Dec 30, 2011
Thursday, Dec 29, 2011
Wednesday, Dec 28, 2011
Tuesday, Dec 27, 2011
Monday, Dec 26, 2011
Sunday, Dec 25, 2011
Friday, Dec 23, 2011
Thursday, Dec 22, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Wednesday, Dec 21, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011
8:41pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Monday, Dec 19, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Sunday, Dec 18, 2011
6:30pm · 4:20pm
Saturday, Dec 17, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm · 10:30am
Friday, Dec 16, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Wednesday, Dec 14, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Tuesday, Dec 13, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Monday, Dec 12, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm
Sunday, Dec 11, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm · 2:10pm · 12:00pm
Saturday, Dec 10, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm · 2:10pm · 12:00pm
Friday, Dec 9, 2011
8:40pm · 6:30pm · 4:20pm · 2:10pm

Stay in Touch

About Us

Sign up for our E-Newsletter Sign up for our E-Newsletter

receive weekly showtimes & information

Subscribe to our RSS feed

announcements, blog entries and newsletters